Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The program allows homeowners and lenders to sit down with trained mediators to discuss alternatives to foreclosure. The mediations, which are confidential, are required to be conducted within 80 days of a Notice of Default and Election to Sell being recorded by the lender and served on the homeowner.

1) Only owner-occupied homes are eligible under the law

Only owner-occupied homes are eligible under the law and only if a notice of default was recorded on or after July 1, 2009. Once a homeowner elects mediation, the lender must participate. The $400 mediation fee is split equally between the two parties. The Administrative Office of the Courts is administering the program and has established a webpage with a variety of information and forms, including some information in Spanish.

2) Mediators Appointed For Foreclosure Mediation Program

The Nevada Supreme Court initially appointed the first 97 mediators for the Nevada Foreclosure Mediation Program€“ a major step that set the stage for the scheduling of the first mediations. The 97 include former Supreme Court Justice Deborah Agosti and former District Court judges Robert Gaston, Robert Estes, and Leonard Gang. Also on the list are current State Bar of Nevada President Kathy England and former Nevada Supreme Court Clerk Janette Bloom. The list of mediators has increase since then.
3). Homeowners who receive notices have 30 days from the day they received their notice to seek mediation
Homeowners who receive foreclosure notices€“ technically Notices of Default and Election to Sell have 30 days from the day they received their notice to seek mediation under the program that was created by the Nevada Legislature effective July 1, 2009.  We have seen a wave of requests for mediation and the wave is getting larger, said Verise Campbell, Foreclosure Mediation Program Manager.  This is what we expected. We knew, because of the mandated time frames, that it would take some time for the requests for mediation to come rolling in and for the program to come up to speed.
4). Once all submissions are in, cases will be assigned to mediators within 10 days
In the process, homeowners must submit their election of mediation form along with a $200 fee to their lenders within 30 days of receiving foreclosure notices. The lenders then forward the request and the homeowner’€™s funds, along with the lender’€™s $200 payment and other documents, to the Foreclosure Mediation Program. Once all submissions are in, cases will be assigned to mediators within 10 days and mediations will be scheduled within 80 days of the date the foreclosure notice was recorded.
5). Training sessions for the Nevada Foreclosure Mediation Program
The list of individuals selected to attend the first training sessions for the Nevada Foreclosure Mediation Program has been set and the participants have been notified. Those training sessions include Aug. 5 in Reno and Aug. 6-7 in Las Vegas and were designed to provide foreclosure-specific information to experienced mediators.
6). Mediation is an alternative method to help parties resolve disputes by agreement with the help of trained mediators.
The Foreclosure Mediation Program was established as a result of the Assembly Bill 149, passed during the 2009 session of the Nevada Legislature.Its purpose is to address the foreclosure crisis head-on and to help keep Nevada families in their homes. This law establishes a Foreclosure Mediation Program for owner-occupied residential properties that are subject to foreclosure notices formally known as a Notice of Default and Election to Sell€“ filed on or after July 1, 2009. Mediation is an alternative method to help parties resolve disputes by agreement with the help of trained mediators.

7). Lenders must have someone at the mediation or available with the authority to modify a loan

Under the Supreme Court Rules, the homeowner must submit copies of financial records and indicate the amount of a mortgage payment that could be made if a loan modification could be reached. Lenders must submit documents indicating current appraisals of a home’€™s value and estimates of what it could sell for in a so-called short sale. Lenders must have someone at the mediation or available with the authority to modify a loan and provide the original or certified copies of the mortgage note, deed of trust, and any assignments of the mortgage note or deed of trust. The rules require that the parties to mediate in “good faith.”

8). the program will offer homeowners the opportunity to sit down with their lenders, mediation will not be the solution for everyone

In July of 2011 when the program first started, 4,205 foreclosure notices were recorded in Nevada. (15 of 17 counties reporting; That was down from the monthly average of about 7,600 and well below the more than 11,000 filed in June. In addition to the owner-occupied homes eligible for the Foreclosure Mediation Program, the foreclosure notices include commercial properties and residential housing not occupied by the owners.

9). New recording fee for Notices of Default and Election to Sell

The Nevada Foreclosure Mediation Program has also resulted in a new recording fee for Notices of Default and Election to Sell. The new fee, established by Assembly Bill 65, is $50. On this website is an information brochure announcing the new recording fee for the Notice of Default The Election/Waiver of Mediation Form to be served with the Notice of Default and Election to Sell is included along with instructions for the individuals recording the notices involved in the new foreclosure procedures.

10). If there is an agreement, the parties will execute the appropriate documents.

Within 10 days of the mediation, the mediator will prepare the necessary Statement of Agreement or Non-agreement and serve it on the parties. The original will be filed with the Foreclosure Mediation Program Administrator and the mediation will be closed. Within 10 days of the mediation, the mediator will prepare the necessary Statement of Agreement or Non-agreement and serve it on the parties. The original will be filed with the Foreclosure Mediation Program Administrator and the mediation will be closed. If there is an agreement, the parties will execute the appropriate documents. If there is no agreement, the parties will be free to pursue other legal remedies.. If there is no agreement, the parties will be free to pursue other legal remedies.

TIMELINE FOR NEVADA FORECLOSURE
DAY     EVENT
DAY 1 – –    Notice of Default and Election to sell is recorded.
An State of Nevada Election/Waiver of Mediation is sent to homeowner along with copy of Notice of Default and Election to Sell.
Within the Next 10 Days     Notice of Default and Election to Sell must sent out to the Trustor/Owner and all the Lien Holders by U.S. Post Office Certified Mail.
1st Day after Mailing the NOD  – –   A 35 day reinstatement period begins.
DAY 30 – –    Election to Mediate expires 30 days from the date of the Notice of Default and Election to sell.
DAY 35  – –   The right to reinstate expires. Not at midnight but at the end of the working day.
25 Days before Foreclosure     Lender notifies the IRS (if applicable).
DAY 91  – –   The lender has the right to send out a Notice of Trustee’s Sale. From the date of the Notice of Trustee’s Sale it’s 20 days to foreclosure, unless otherwise specified in the notice. Notice of Trustee’s Sale must be sent via U.S. Registered Mail to all parties who require notification. The notice must also be posted within the County where the sale is to be held and where the property is located.
1 Week before Foreclosure     A bid price is typically established at this point. The bid amount includes principal, interest, advances and costs.
DAY 111 – –   Day of Trustee’s Sale also known as the foreclosure day. Anyone interested in buying the property can bid on the property. Only cash or certified funds are accepted. After the sale, a new deed is provided for the new owner. The new owner may be the bank or the winning bidder.

Note: Over the last few years, we saw that many times lenders did not act this quickly in their execution of foreclosures but it is important to note that they have the right to do so.

Quick Facts

–  Judicial Foreclosure Available: Yes

–  Non-Judicial Foreclosure Available: Yes

–  Primary Security Instruments: Deed of Trust, Mortgage

–  Timeline: Typically 120 days

–  Right of Redemption: Yes

–  Deficiency Judgments Allowed: Yes

In Nevada, lenders may foreclose on deeds of trusts or mortgages in default using either a judicial or non-judicial foreclosure process.

Judicial Foreclosure

The judicial process of foreclosure, which involves filing a lawsuit to obtain a court order to foreclose, is used when no power of sale is present in the mortgage or deed of trust. Generally, after the court declares a foreclosure, your home will be auctioned off to the highest bidder.

The borrower has one year (12 months) after the foreclosure sale to redeem the property if the judicial foreclosure process is used.

Non-Judicial Foreclosure

The non-judicial process of foreclosure is used when a power of sale clause exists in a mortgage or deed of trust. A “power of sale” clause is the clause in a deed of trust or mortgage, in which the borrower pre-authorizes the sale of property to pay off the balance on a loan in the event of the their default. In deeds of trust or mortgages where a power of sale exists, the power given to the lender to sell the property may be executed by the lender or their representative, typically referred to as the trustee. Regulations for this type of foreclosure process are outlined below in the “Power of Sale Foreclosure Guidelines”.

Power of Sale Foreclosure Guidelines

If the deed of trust or mortgage contains a power of sale clause and specifies the time, place and terms of sale, then the specified procedure must be followed. Otherwise, the non-judicial power of sale foreclosure is carried out as follows:

  1. A copy of the notice of default and election to sell must be mailed certified, return receipt requested, to the borrower, at their last known address, on the date the notice is recorded in the county where the property is located. Any additional postings and advertisements must be done in the same manner as for an execution sale in Nevada.

    Beginning on the day after the notice of default and election was recorded with the county and mailed to the borrower, the borrower has anywhere from fifteen (15) to thirty five (35) days to cure the default by paying the delinquent amount on the loan. The actual amount of time given is dependent on the date of the original deed of trust.

  2. The owner of the property may stop the foreclosure proceedings by filing an “Intent to Cure” with the Public Trustee’s office at least fifteen (15) days prior to the foreclosure sale and then paying the necessary amount to bring the loan current by noon the day before the foreclosure sale is scheduled.
  3. The foreclosure sale itself will be held at the place, the time and on the date stated in the notice of default and election and must be conducted in the same manner as for an execution sale of real property.

Lenders have three (3) months after the sale to try and obtain a deficiency judgment. Borrowers have no rights of redemption.

NEVADA FORECLOSURE TIMELINE

DAY EVENT
DAY 1 Notice of Default and Election to sell is recorded.
An State of Nevada Election/Waiver of Mediation is sent to homeowner along with copy of Notice of Default and Election to Sell.
Within the Next 10 Days Notice of Default and Election to Sell must sent out to the Trustor/Owner and all the Lien Holders by U.S. Post Office Certified Mail.
1st Day after Mailing the NOD A 35 day reinstatement period begins.
DAY 30 Election to Mediate expires 30 days from the date of the Notice of Default and Election to sell.
DAY 35 The right to reinstate expires. Not at midnight but at the end of the working day.
25 Days before Foreclosure Lender notifies the IRS (if applicable).
DAY 91 The lender has the right to send out a Notice of Trustee’s Sale. From the date of the Notice of Trustee’s Sale it’s 20 days to foreclosure, unless otherwise specified in the notice. Notice of Trustee’s Sale must be sent via U.S. Registered Mail to all parties who require notification. The notice must also be posted within the County where the sale is to be held and where the property is located.
1 Week before Foreclosure A bid price is typically established at this point. The bid amount includes principal, interest, advances and costs.
DAY 111 Day of Trustee’s Sale also known as the foreclosure day. Anyone interested in buying the property can bid on the property. Only cash or certified funds are accepted. After the sale, a new deed is provided for the new owner. The new owner may be the bank or the winning bidder.

Over the last few years, we saw that many times lenders did not act this quickly in their execution of foreclosures but it is important to note that they have the right to do so.

– See more at: http://michaelsrealestate.com/nevada-foreclosure-law/#sthash.CfhtdkBI.dpuf

For more information about foreclosure defense please visit: http://www.fightforeclosure.net

Advertisements